Monaco Modified Tri-Track Series Official Website |

MONEY MAN: Matt Hirschman Becomes First Four-Time Winner of Seekonk Speedway’s Open Wheel Wednesday


Souza Media: When the money is on the line, Matt Hirschman is at the front of the field.

It was true yet again on Wednesday, August 25 at Seekonk Speedway, as Hirschman started from the outside pole position, stole the lead from Brian Robie on lap one, and led all but one circuit to score the victory in the Speed51.TV Modified Madness presented by the Tri Track Open Modified Series. The winning purse for Hirschman was $10,600 — including the $10,000 to win purse in the 16th annual event and multiple contingency awards. The victory was Hirschman’s second in the first five races of the Tri Track season, and it helped cement his chances of a sixth Tri Track title with only one race left on the season schedule.

The Open Wheel Wednesday spectacular was postponed from June 30 to August 25 due to a power outage in the area.

“This is one of less than maybe a handful of races all year that you look forward to and if you don’t get it done, you have to wait a whole calendar year to have the chance to do it again,” Hirschman said. “This is a big race, and a big win. Very relieved to hold onto that at the end.”

Hirschman may have led nearly the entire distance, and cruised for much of the 100 laps, but the final few circuits were tougher than he expected. With just a few laps to go, Hirschman looked in his rear-view mirror and saw most recent Tri Track winner Chase Dowling try to chase him down. Dowling was able to get to the bumper with five laps to go, as Hirschman went to the outside of lapped car Blake Barney. Hirschman would work the top groove on Barney all the way until the field took the white flag, while Dowling tried to find a way to the bottom three-wide. For one lap, Dowling did edge Hirschman out for the lead at the line. However, luckily for Hirschman, he was able to clear Barney just in the nick of time to grab the big check and add another win to his historic resume. Hirschman became the first four-time winner of the prestigious event after entering the race tied with Doug Coby for three wins.

Dowling settled for second, after pitting during a lap 28 caution and staying out late, while Anthony Nocella rounded out the top-three with his best finish of the season. Richard Savary charged from the back of the field to fourth, while rising star Joey Cipriano drove the Bob Horn prepared entry into the top-five. Ron Silk was sixth, followed by Robie, Doug Coby, Les Hinckley and Pro Stock standout Angelo Belsito.

With his fourth-place finish, Savary earned the Green Construction LLC Hard Charger award, worth $500. Hirschman posted the fastest lap of the race, winning the Jerico Performance Products Fast Lap Award, adding another $300 to his total. Although the qualifying racing took place in June, Hirschman also earned $300 for his heat victory in the Pepsi Challenge, along with Ron Silk, Justin Bonsignore, Brian Robie, Doug Coby, Austin Beers and Matt Galko.

Hirschman will have a double-digit points lead with one event left on the Tri Track schedule. Unofficially, with his second-place finish, Dowling sealed the 811 Call Before You Dig Modified Challenge championship, winning a smooth $8,111 in the process. Drivers are awarded points for a top-10 finish, including 10 to win, 9 for second, etc., and the points are tallied as a combination between the four Stafford Motor Speedway Open Modified events and the six Tri Track races.

The Tri Track Open Modified Series will return to the track for the season finale on Saturday, October 23, at Seekonk Speedway for the running of the Haunted Hundred. The Pro All Star Series Super Late Models and American-Canadian Tour Late Models will also join the show.

For more information on Seekonk Speedway, visit and follow the track on social media. For more information on the Tri Track Open Modified Series, visit

RESULTS: Tri Track Open Modified Series at Seekonk Speedway; Wednesday, August 25, 2021:

  1. Matt Hirschman
  2. Chase Dowling
  3. Anthony Nocella
  4. Richard Savary
  5. Joey Cipriano
  6. Ron Silk
  7. Brian Robie
  8. Doug Coby
  9. Les Hinckley
  10. Angelo Belsito
  11. Chris Pasteryak
  12. Dylan Izzo
  13. Justin Bonsignore
  14. Tommy Barrett
  15. Matt Swanson
  16. Austin Beers
  17. Russ Hersey
  18. Woody Pitkat
  19. Max Zachem
  20. Matt Galko
  21. Anthony Sesely
  22. Devin O’Connell
  23. Blake Barney
  24. Kirk Alexander
  25. Austin Kochenash
  26. Ronnie Williams

Photo credit: Tom Morris