Monaco Modified Tri-Track Series Official Website |

Matt Hirschman Rockets to Another Big Money SMB Win at Star Speedway


Souza Media: Veteran Modified ace Matt Hirschman, nicknamed “Big Money”, was back to his winning ways on Saturday night at Star Speedway. Hirschman scored a victory with a winning purse of over $14,000 in the 10th annual SBM classic at Star in the third race of the Tri Track Open Modified Series season.

The win was the first of the season in Tri Track competition for Hirschman — a five-time series champion — and also his third since Tri Track took over the SBM event. It was Hirschman’s 13th in his 32 career Tri Track starts — 10 victories more than any other driver.

As a driver who is known for tire maintenance, Hirschman’s strategy was nearly the opposite with all of the extra lap money bonuses on the line. After winning his qualifying heat race, Hirschman took part in a 12-car redraw to determine the starting lineup and started the race from the pole position. He led the first 78 laps, essentially unchallenged, before he took his car to pit road for a fresh Hoosier tire.

When he did — nearly half of the rest of the field — who had all pitted earlier in the race — stayed on the track. That sent Hirschman back to the middle of the pack, where he restarted 13th. He would slice his way into the top-10 by lap 85, then into the top-five on lap 95. He chased down leader Jon McKennedy and took the top spot on lap 112, then held off the field following a late flurry of cautions, and one red flag, to score the victory.

Behind him, McKennedy settled for second, with Chase Dowling third, Ronnie Williams fourth and Ron Silk fifth. The run marked the third consecutive top-five for Silk to open the Tri Track season, which gives him a comfortable lead in the championship standings at the halfway point of the six-race schedule.

Max Zachem, Justin Bonsignore, Brian Robie, Dana DiMatteo and NASCAR Cup Series regular Ryan Preece finished the top-10. Sam Rameau, who won the Tri Track season opener at Monadnock Speedway on May 1 and entered the race second in the championship standings, struggled most of the day and finished 23rd.

Through the Pepsi Challenge, the following drivers earned $300 for winning qualifying heat and consi races: Chase Dowling, Brian Robie, Jon McKennedy, Matt Hirschman, Earl Paules, Cam McDermott and Anthony Nocella.

The Tri Track Open Modified Series returns to the track at Monadnock Speedway for race four of the six-race schedule on Saturday, August 14. For more information on the series, visit and follow on social media.


  1. Matt Hirschman
  2. Jon McKennedy
  3. Chase Dowling
  4. Ronnie Williams
  5. Ron Silk
  6. Max Zachem
  7. Justin Bonsignore
  8. Brian Robie
  9. Dana DiMatteo
  10. Ryan Preece
  11. Andy Jankowiak
  12. Chris Pasteryak
  13. Dylan Izzo
  14. Earl Paules
  15. Les Hinckley
  16. Kirk Alexander
  17. Anthony Sesely
  18. Cam McDermott
  19. Richard Savary
  20. Woody Pitkat
  21. Matt Swanson
  22. Ryan Doucette
  23. Sam Rameau
  24. Anthony Nocella
  25. Kyle James
  26. Patrick Emerling
  27. Eric Berndt
  28. Austin Kochenash
  29. Josh Cantara